Awards Committee

The Awards Committee develops criteria and manages the nomination and selection processes for awards given by the Section. The Awards Committee also manages the nomination and selection process for the Sewell Scholarship Award. Contact: Chair (interim)

Communications Committee

The Communications Committee maintains the Community Health Workers Section website by updating Section information and providing links to important resources and opportunities. The committee also manages the Section's social media. Contact: Chair (interim)

Education Y Capacitacion Committee

Education y Capacitacion Committee guides and supports the development of education and training standards for community health workers throughout the United States and around the world. Current Co-Chair Contacts: Angela Ellison and Veronica Sek

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee recruits new Section members, supports existing members, and follows up with lapsed members. Current Chair: Denise Martinez

Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee prepares an annual ballot of community health workers and others to serve in elected leadership positions for the Section. As requested by the Section Chair, members may also help to review Committee leadership roles and recommended candidates for Co-chairs. Contact: Chair (interim)

Policy Committee

The Policy Committee engages and organizes members who work to analyze, respond to, and help shape public policy at the national, state, and local level related to the community health worker profession. Current Co-Chair Contacts: Rumana Rabbani, Abdul Hafeedh Muhammad bin Abdullah, & Angie Kuzma

Program Planning Committee

The Program Planning Committee develops and oversees program content for the Section at the Annual Meeting and Exposition; including all scientific sessions, business meetings, our social hour and the Public Health Expo booth. Current Chair Contact: Paige Menking

For leadership contact information, log into APHA Connect using your member credentials.