Committee on Health Equity

This committee is charged with assuring that APHA meets its diversity, inclusion and social justice goals by monitoring the diversity of its Sections, Committees, Councils and Boards; encouraging APHA to maximize inclusion in decisionmaking at all levels; and recognizing and promoting best practices by APHA units, Affiliates, and Caucuses. The Committee on Health Equity meets by conference calls periodically and during the Annual Meeting for which meeting expenses are not covered. The term for Committee on Health Equity members is three years.

APHA Diversity and Inclusion Report

With the support of the Executive Board, the Committee on Health Equity is excited to share the results of the Diversity and Inclusion Survey.

The Committee plans to use the Diversity and Inclusion Report (PDF) to: 

  • illuminate diversity and inclusion among APHA member groups and Affiliates;
  • identify their best practices; and
  • share this information with APHA leadership and members to inform future initiatives and programs. 

Committee Roster

Vanessa Schick, PhD (Chair)

Marcela Campoli, PhD

Patricia Canessa

Pornsak (Paul) Chandanabhumma, MPH

Thometta Cozart

Natalie D. Hernandez, PhD, MPH

Samer Jabbour, MD, MPH

Brittany Marshall, DrPH

Michael Meit, MA, MPH

Anthony Santella, DrPH, MPH, MCHES

Jack Tsai

Miriam Y. Vega, PhD


APHA Policy on Executive Session (PDF)