Awards Committee

This committee focuses on selecting the winners of the following six APHA Awards:

  • Sedgwick Memorial Medal for Distinguished Service in Public Health, APHA's oldest and most prestigious honor
  • APHA Award for Excellence
  • David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health
  • Helen Rodriguez-Trias Social Justice Award
  • Victor Sidel and Barry Levy Award for Peace
  • Ayman El-Mohandes Young Professional Public Health Innovation Award

Committee members are public health professionals possessing rich experience and broad diversity across the public health community.

Responsibilities of the Committee

The activities of the Awards Committee are to share the Call for APHA Awards Nominations with their colleagues, review the nominations and meet via conference call to select the award winners.

Committee Members:

Cheryl E. Easley, PhD, RN - Chair
Term Expires 2022

William G. Courtney, DVM, MPH
Term Expires 2022

Daniel Powell, OD, PhD
Term Expires 2022

Irene Tami-Maury, DMD, MSc, DrPH
Term Expires 2022

Carmen Nevarez, MD, MPH
Term Expires 2023

Deanna Wathington, MD
Term Expires 2023

Staff Liaison: Deborah Dillard, 202-777-2442

APHA Policy on Executive Session (PDF)