APHA announces 2015 APHA award winners

Date: Sep 21 2015

For Immediate Release

For more, contact David Fouse, 202-777-2501, david.fouse@apha.org

American Public Health Association announces 2015 APHA award winners

Honorees include U.S. Sen. Edward Markey, gun violence prevention researcher Daniel Webster and West Virginia health officer Rahul Gupta

Washington, D.C., Sept. 21, 2015 — The American Public Health Association today announced the winners of its prestigious national awards recognizing individuals for leadership, innovation and excellence in the public health field. The awards will be presented Nov. 3 during APHA’s 143rd Annual Meeting and Exposition in Chicago.

“We are honored and delighted to celebrate the remarkable achievements of these esteemed public health leaders,” said Georges Benjamin, MD, executive director of APHA. “Their contributions have helped protect and improve the public’s health. We are grateful for their service, dedication and commitment to helping create a healthier nation and world.”

APHA’s 2015 awardees are listed below. Visit APHA’s website to view the full awards listings and descriptions.

  • Hortensia de los Angeles Amaro, PhD, receives the Sedgwick Memorial Award Medal for Distinguished Service in Public Health for her more than 30 years as a pioneer in the fields of alcohol and drug use and addiction as well as in HIV prevention.
  • Oliver Fein, MD, receives the APHA Award for Excellence for his work as a clinician, teacher, public health practitioner and advocate.
  • Daniel Webster, ScD, MPH, receives the David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health for his work on injury and gun violence prevention.
  • Rahul Gupta, MD, MPH, FACP, wins APHA’s Milton and Ruth Roemer Prize for Creative Local Public Health Work for his crisis leadership during 2014’s chemical spill in West Virginia’s Elk River and other work.
  • Willie J. Parker, MD, MPH, MSc, a women’s health advocate and abortion services provider, is honored with the Helen Rodriguez-Trìas Social Justice Award.
  • Billie P. Weiss, MPH, founder of Violence Prevention Coalition of Greater Los Angeles, is presented the Victor Sidel and Barry Levy Award for Peace.
  • Kay A. Johnson, MPH, EdM, is winner of the Martha May Eliot Award for her 30 years as a leader in the field, serving as an advisor and advocate for mothers and children.
  • U.S. Sen. Edward Markey is APHA’s Distinguished Public Health Legislator of the Year for championing the health and wellness of Americans, including addressing climate change as a public health issue.
  • Helene Gayle, MD, MPH, wins the APHA Presidential Citation for her outstanding contributions to the advancement of public health.
  • Burton Wilcke Jr., PhD, is honored with the APHA Executive Director Citation for his exceptional, distinguished service to the field of public health.
  • John Storey, PhD, receives the Mortimer Spiegelman Award for his work in public health statistics and developing and applying quantitative methods in genomics.

# # #


The American Public Health Association champions the health of all people and all communities. We strengthen the public health profession. We speak out for public health issues and policies backed by science. We are the only organization that influences federal policy, has a 140-plus year perspective and brings together members from all fields of public health. Visit www.apha.org.